David was sorting through some of his work papers the other day.  He found this picture in the midst of his papers and showed it to me:

The Smallest Turtles!

       The Smallest Turtles!

I could not believe that Peanut and Cashew had ever been so tiny!  (Cashew is the smaller one at the top.  Peanut is the lighter, larger one at the bottom.)  It just reminded me of how much they have grown in the two+ years that we’ve had them.  They have just gotten massive!

Peanut:

July 2012:

Just a baby!

       Just a baby!

October 2014:

PeanutQuarter

Peanut has always been the larger of the two.  He has grown steadily the entire time we’ve had him.  He’s super sweet and loves to just be close to us.  He is the happiest when he’s asleep in the crook of my arm when I am sitting on the couch watching tv.  I am pretty sure I could just carry him around 24/7 and he would think it was great.  He’s a cuddler.

I always kind of thought that Peanut might be female, but now that he’s getting older, we have learned that he is definitely male.  He’s also starting to develop some orange freckles on his face, another male characteristic.  (Males often have orange and red faces, though not always.)

Cashew:

July 2012:

cashewquarter2

         Teeny tiny!

October 2014:

CashewQuarter

Cashew was our little runt for the longest time.  Peanut was growing and growing and Cashew just wasn’t.  But never fear — one day he became the Hulk and all this new shell came in almost before our eyes.  (That light ring at the base of his shell is more new growth.)  There were days when I’d see him in the morning and then by evening I’d swear he’d grown more in just those few hours!  He is also a male.  I always thought he was because he has had little orange racing stripes on his face since we got him, hehe.

Cashew is our crazy turtle.  He’s our own personal drill sergeant. We think he knows my alarm clock noise because he loves to get up when I do.  I come into the living room, turn on the light, and there’s that turtle – already awake and ready to get up!  On the days when I do sleep in, I can sometimes lay in bed and hear him beating on the glass of his cage — “Get up!  Get up!!!  I am hungry!!”

Cashew knows no fear.  When I hold Peanut, he finds a nice warm spot so he can cuddle up and snuggle.  There is hardly any snuggling with Cashew!  David usually has Cashew, and that turtle will climb all the way up to David’s shoulder, and then turn around, head facing downwards, put both arms and both legs straight out, and then sllliiiiiiiiidddeee on his belly all the way down!  David has to have a blockade ready for him so he doesn’t go off onto the floor!  He loves it.  He will do this over and over and over again.  It’s really funny to watch, and you can tell he’s having a great time.

Side-by-side, they are almost identical now in size:

In their water bowl.  They used to swim around in here together, but clearly now it's a one-at-a-time event.  (Those are shavings on Cashew's back from the cage - he was buried under them a few moments prior.)

In their water bowl. They used to swim around in here together, but clearly now it’s a one-at-a-time event. (Those are shavings on Cashew’s back from the cage – he was buried under them a few moments prior.)

Cashew is the darker one on the left, and Peanut is the lighter one on the right.  That’s really the fastest way to tell them apart anymore – they are just too close in size to judge!

My only question: how did they get so big!!

photo 1

Oh.

Yeah.

They love their food.

